School Board Appreciation Week 2023 Thank you Board Members Walworth

The Wisconsin Association of School Boards has designated Oct. 1-7 as Wisconsin School Board Week, as a time to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our communities. Walworth Jt. School District #1 is joining all public school districts across the state to celebrate Wisconsin School Board Week to honor local board members for their commitment to Walworth and its children.

“It takes strong schools to build a strong community, and these men and women devote countless hours to making sure our schools are helping every child learn at a higher level,” Phill Klamm said. “They make tough decisions every month and spend many hours studying education issues and regulations in order to provide the kind of accountability our citizens expect.”

Klam said the key work of school boards is to raise student achievement by:

  • Creating a vision for what the community wants the school district to be and for making student achievement the top priority;
  • Establishing standards for what students will be expected to learn and be able to do;
  • Ensuring progress is measured to be the district’s goals are achieved and students are learning at expected levels;
  • Being accountable for their decisions and actions by continually tracking and reporting results;
  • Creating a safe, orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach;
  • Forming partnerships with others in the community to solve common problems; and
  • Focusing attention on the need for continuous improvement by questions, refining, and revising issues related to student achievement.

“School board members give Walworth citizens a voice in education decision making. Even though we make a special effort to show our appreciation in October, their contribution is a year-round commitment.”

The members serving our district are as follows: Mary Heyer (Board President), Sue Zillmer (Board Vice President), Valerie Gibbs (Board Clerk), Chad Roehl (Board Treasurer), and Tracey Schott (Board Member).